The Heifer Board of Directors stand in front of a sign outside.

Board of Directors

Strengthening communities around the world

The Heifer Board of Directors stand in front of a sign outside.

Meet our Board of Directors whose diverse expertise supports Heifer’s mission

Strategic vision

Our Board Members come from a wide range of backgrounds, including business, agriculture, academia and the private sector. They create the organization’s strategic vision, establishing Heifer as a partner with locals on the ground. Team members across the globe implement the Board’s values and policies and in turn, build inclusive economies that empower millions.

At least one director resides in each of the international program areas where Heifer carries out its work. All directors are independent voting members, as defined in IRS Form 990.

  1. Susan Grant, At-Large Director since 2011
  2. Pete Kappelman, Vice Chair, At-Large Director since 2013
  3. Nikolaus Hutter, Europe, At-Large Director since 2013
  4. Esther Cohen, Faith Based Episcopal Relief and Development Director since 2013
  5. Ashley Stone, At-Large Director since 2014
  6. Doug Galen, At-Large Director since 2014
  7. Josephine Oguta, Africa, At-Large Director since 2014
  8. Tom Hadfield, North America, At-Large Director since 2016
  9. Randi Hedin, Chair, At-Large Director since 2017
  10. Ambassador Ertharin Cousin, At-Large Director Since 2018
  11. Ramesh Singh, Asia, At-Large Director since 2019
  12. Victoria Sekitoleko, At-Large Director since 2019
  13. Mary Renwick, At-Large Director since 2020
  14. Chuck Warta, At-Large Director since 2020
  15. Nathan Hosler, Faith Based Church of the Brethren Director since 2020

  16. Martha Brantley, Chair, Heifer Foundation since 2019
  17. Sarah Alexander, Non-voting liaison representing Heifer Foundation since 2020

Accelerating the path to living incomes