The Heifer Board of Directors stand in front of a sign outside.

Board of Directors

Strengthening communities around the world

The Heifer Board of Directors stand in front of a sign outside.

Meet our Board of Directors whose diverse expertise supports Heifer’s mission

Strategic vision

Our Board Members come from a wide range of backgrounds, including business, agriculture, academia and the private sector. They create the organization’s strategic vision, establishing Heifer as a partner with locals on the ground. Team members across the globe implement the Board’s values and policies and in turn, build inclusive economies that empower millions.

At least one director resides in each of the international program areas where Heifer carries out its work. All directors are independent voting members, as defined in IRS Form 990.

  1. Francine Anthony, At-Large Director since 2011
  2. Susan Grant, At-Large Director since 2011
  3. Jay A. Wittmeyer, Church of the Brethren since 2012
  4. Pete Kappelman, Chair, At-Large Director since 2013
  5. Nikolaus Hutter, Europe, At-Large Director since 2013
  6. Esther Cohen, Episcopal Relief and Development since 2013
  7. Ashley Stone, At-Large Director since 2014
  8. Doug Galen, At-Large Director since 2014
  9. Josephine Oguta, Africa, At-Large Director since 2014
  10. Tom Hadfield, North America, At-Large Director since 2016
  11. George Petty, Chair, Heifer Foundation since 2014
  12. Randi Hedin, Vice Chair, At-Large Director since 2017
  13. Thomas Kemper, United Methodist Church Global Missions since 2017
  14. Ambassador Ertharin Cousin, At-Large Director Since 2018
  15. Ramesh Singh, Asia, At-Large Director since 2019
  16. Victoria Sekitoleko, At-Large Director since 2019
  17. Martha Brantley, Non-voting liaison representing Heifer Foundation since 2019

Accelerating the path to living incomes